eSIM with a Real Phone Number for Business Calls Abroad: Comparison
Which eSIM providers offer real voice numbers for client calls? We compare plans with voice+SMS, per-minute rates, and business use cases. See the full comparison.

If you take client calls from a co‑working space in Lisbon, need to receive a bank verification code in Mexico, or just want a local‑looking number for your consultancy while you’re in Cape Town, a data‑only eSIM won’t cut it. You need a real phone number: the kind that can ring when someone dials it, deliver an SMS to your phone’s native Messages app, and let you call a landline without a third‑party VoIP app.
Most travel eSIMs are data‑only. A handful now bundle a genuine, callable number with voice minutes and SMS. This article compares those providers, walks you through a decision tree, and gives you a realistic cost example. I’ll also tell you what we couldn’t verify: because if you’re betting client communication on an eSIM, you need to know the gaps.
The short answer: For outbound‑only international calls, Roamless’s pay‑as‑you‑go rates are the cheapest we’ve seen, starting at $0.01 per minute to over 200 destinations. For a full inbound/outbound business line with a real number, eSIM.net’s UK +44 plans and Simbye’s country‑specific numbers are the strongest contenders, but pricing transparency is poor and we have no independent test data on SMS 2FA reliability. If you need a number that banks and government services will accept, a plan with a real MSISDN, not an app‑based virtual number, is the only safe bet.
The data‑only eSIM trap
The four biggest travel eSIM brands, Airalo, Holafly, Nomad, and Saily, are “almost entirely data‑only,” according to Tourist eSIM’s 2026 guide. That matches what most remote workers discover the hard way: you install the eSIM, data works, WhatsApp calls are fine, but you can’t make a standard phone call or receive an SMS verification code.
The reason is technical. A data‑only eSIM lacks an MSISDN: the actual phone number that the mobile network uses to route calls and SMS. Without it, your phone can’t register for circuit‑switched voice or SMS services. Apps like WhatsApp and FaceTime work because they use the data connection, not the cellular voice channel. But when your bank sends a 2FA code, it goes to the MSISDN. No MSISDN, no code.
Simbye’s explainer puts it bluntly: “There is no MSISDN (phone number) attached, so you cannot make a normal voice call, send an SMS, or receive an SMS verification code.”
One travel blog, MyVeganTravels’ 2026 guide, lists Airalo as “Best for data with calls and texts,” which directly contradicts the data‑only claim. We couldn’t verify that. Airalo’s own product pages do not advertise a real phone number or native SMS capability for most plans, and the blog’s assertion appears to be an outlier. For now, treat any claim that Airalo offers voice/SMS with skepticism unless you see a specific plan with a real MSISDN.
What a “real phone number” actually means
A real phone number on an eSIM means three things:
- Inbound calls. Someone can dial the number and your phone rings, using the standard Phone app: not a third‑party VoIP client.
- Outbound calls via the cellular network. You dial a number and the call goes through the mobile network, not over a data‑only app.
- Native SMS receipt. SMS messages arrive in your phone’s default messaging app, and you can send SMS from it. This is critical for 2FA, bank verification, and delivery notifications.
If a provider says “calls” but those calls are made through their own app (like Roamless’s outgoing‑only model), you’re getting a VoIP service, not a real phone number. That can work fine for outbound client calls if you don’t need inbound or SMS, but it won’t help with verification codes.
Providers that offer voice + SMS
Below is a comparison of the travel eSIM providers that explicitly advertise a real phone number with voice and SMS capability, based on their own published claims as of 2026. I’ve also included two outbound‑only options for reference.
| Provider | Plan example | Number country | Voice & SMS features | Data | Pricing | Activation | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Simbye | USA eSIM | Real +1 (AT&T 5G) | Unlimited US calls & SMS | Not specified | Not disclosed | QR code, ~2 minutes | Bundles a real, callable number; claims to be one of few providers with this. |
| eSIM.net | UK +44 Vodafone plan | UK +44 | Unlimited local calls; international calls with VIP add‑on | 25GB in 76 countries (30 days) | Not disclosed | Instant activation, no KYC | Claims reliable O2 SMS, not blocked by banks. |
| Tourist eSIM | Data+Voice+SMS plans | Multiple (not specified) | Real voice calls & SMS | Included (amount not detailed) | From $1.91 | Not specified | Claims to be “the only major provider” with full Data+Voice+SMS; pricing is a starting rate. |
| Holiday eSIM (Vodafone Travel XL) | 26GB Global Business Travel | Not specified | 100 included voice minutes (37+ countries) | 26GB, 28 days | Not disclosed | Not specified | 100 minutes may be insufficient for heavy business use; overage rates unknown. |
| Truphone (1GLOBAL Enterprise) | Enterprise eSIM | Varies by business plan | Voice, SMS, data after activation | Plan‑dependent | Business pricing | QR code delivery, then contact support to activate | Enterprise‑only; not a self‑service travel eSIM. |
| Outbound‑only (no real number) | |||||||
| Roamless | Pay‑as‑you‑go international calls | None (app‑based) | Outgoing calls via app | Not included; data‑only eSIM separate | From $0.01/min to 200+ destinations | App‑based | Verified 7 Jan 2026; no inbound calls, no SMS. |
| Firsty | International calling rates | None | Outgoing calls via app | Not included | Europe avg €0.03/min; North America avg €0.03/min | App‑based | Continent‑level averages; actual rates vary by country. |
What’s missing from every provider: None of these vendors publish a clear per‑minute rate card for both inbound and outbound calls tied to a specific eSIM SKU. The “unlimited” or “included” minutes often come with fair‑use policies that are not disclosed. And we found no independent test results showing whether SMS 2FA codes from major banks actually arrive reliably on these numbers. If you’re choosing a business line, that’s the test that matters most, and it hasn’t been done.
Decision tree: which option fits your business
Use this branching logic to narrow down your choices. Start at the top.
Do you need to receive inbound calls on a real number?
- Yes → You need a plan with a real MSISDN. Continue to next question.
- No → If outbound calling is enough, Roamless or Firsty may suffice. Skip to the outbound branch.
Inbound branch:
- Do you need a local number in a specific country (e.g., US, UK)?
- Yes, US → Simbye’s USA eSIM with a +1 number, if available.
- Yes, UK → eSIM.net’s UK +44 plan.
- Yes, other → Check Tourist eSIM’s country coverage (they claim multiple countries but don’t list them). You may need to contact support.
- Do you need a number that banks and government services will accept for SMS?
- Yes → eSIM.net claims its O2 SMS is “not blocked by banks etc.” Simbye implies the same for its AT&T number. Prioritize these over providers that don’t address bank compatibility.
- Is your call volume high (more than 100 minutes per month)?
- Yes → Avoid the Holiday eSIM plan with only 100 minutes. Look for unlimited local calls (eSIM.net, Simbye) or a business plan like Truphone.
- No → A limited‑minute plan may work if the overage is affordable, but we don’t have overage rates.
Outbound‑only branch:
- Do you call multiple countries frequently?
- Yes → Roamless’s $0.01/min to 200+ destinations is the cheapest we’ve seen.
- No, mostly one region → Firsty’s continent averages (€0.03/min) may be comparable, but check per‑country rates.
- Do you need a call record or business‑grade reliability?
- Yes → Neither Roamless nor Firsty is a business‑grade service. Consider a full enterprise eSIM like Truphone or a local carrier plan.
Worked example: 200 minutes of international calls per month
You’re a consultant spending a month in Europe, and you need to make 200 minutes of outbound calls to clients in the US and Europe. You don’t need inbound calls or SMS: you handle those through other channels. Here’s what two outbound‑only eSIM options would cost, based on their advertised rates.
- Roamless: $0.01 per minute to the US and most European destinations. 200 minutes × $0.01 = $2.00.
- Firsty: Average rate for Europe is €0.03 per minute; for North America, also €0.03. 200 minutes × €0.03 = €6.00 (about $6.50 at current exchange rates).
Roamless is clearly cheaper for high‑volume outbound calling. But remember: neither gives you a number that clients can call back. If you need a real business line, you’d need a plan like eSIM.net’s UK +44 eSIM. We don’t have pricing for that plan, but typical travel eSIMs with voice start around $15–$30 for a month, often with unlimited local calls. For 200 minutes, an unlimited plan would be cost‑effective, but you’d need to verify that “unlimited” doesn’t mean throttled after a hidden cap.
Checklist: before you buy an eSIM for business calls
Run through this list before you pay for a plan.
- Your phone supports eSIM and is unlocked. Apple’s official support page confirms iPhones can manage eight or more eSIMs, but your device must be carrier‑unlocked. Check your model’s eSIM compatibility.
- You know the exact countries you’ll be in. Voice+SMS eSIMs often have limited country coverage compared to data‑only eSIMs. Verify that the provider’s plan includes voice/SMS in your destination, not just data.
- You’ve confirmed the number’s country code. A UK +44 number may work for international clients, but if you need a local presence (e.g., a US +1 number for American clients), pick accordingly.
- You’ve checked bank/SMS compatibility. If you need 2FA codes, look for providers that explicitly say their SMS works with banks. eSIM.net claims this; others don’t.
- You understand the fair‑use policy. “Unlimited” minutes often have a hidden cap. Ask support before buying if you expect heavy usage.
- You have a backup for 2FA. Even with a real number, SMS delivery can fail. Keep an alternative 2FA method (authenticator app, backup codes) for critical accounts.
- You know the activation process. Some providers activate instantly (eSIM.net), others require contacting support (Truphone). Factor in the time before your first call.
Activation timeline: from purchase to first call
Here’s what a typical activation looks like for a voice+SMS travel eSIM, based on the providers’ descriptions.
- Purchase (0–5 minutes). Buy the plan on the provider’s website. You’ll usually receive a confirmation email.
- Receive QR code (instant to 1 hour). Most providers email the QR code immediately. Truphone sends it upon request; that may take longer.
- Install eSIM (2–5 minutes). Scan the QR code in your phone’s settings. For iPhones, you can do this under Settings > Cellular > Add eSIM. The eSIM profile downloads.
- Activation (instant to 24 hours). Simbye says activation takes about 2 minutes. eSIM.net says instant. Truphone requires you to contact customer support after downloading: that could add hours or a day, depending on support hours.
- Test call and SMS (5 minutes). Make a test call and send an SMS to confirm everything works. If SMS fails, contact support immediately; you don’t want to discover this during a client call.
Plan for at least a few hours of buffer before you need the line. If you’re using Truphone’s enterprise eSIM, start the process a day ahead.
Conflicts and what we don’t know
Two claims in the research directly contradict each other, and they affect your choice.
Conflict 1: Who actually offers a real phone number? Tourist eSIM’s guide states it is “the only major provider with full Data+Voice+SMS plans.” Simbye’s blog says it “bundles a real, callable number” for several country eSIMs. Both can’t be the only one. We didn’t test either service, so we can’t say which claim is accurate. What matters: both exist, and you should verify current availability directly with each provider.
Conflict 2: Is Airalo data‑only or not? Tourist eSIM says Airalo is data‑only. MyVeganTravels lists Airalo as “Best for data with calls and texts.” Airalo’s own site doesn’t prominently advertise voice/SMS on most travel plans. Until we see a specific Airalo plan with a real MSISDN, assume the data‑only description is correct for the majority of their offers.
What nobody has tested (and we couldn’t verify)
- SMS 2FA reliability. No source in our research ran a systematic test sending bank verification codes to these eSIM numbers across multiple countries. That’s the single most important feature for a business line, and it’s untested.
- Per‑minute rate transparency. No provider published a complete inbound/outbound rate card for a specific eSIM SKU. The advertised “from” prices are useless for budgeting.
- Fair‑use throttling. We could not find a single vendor policy explaining when “unlimited” voice minutes get deprioritized or cut off.
If you’re evaluating a provider, ask support these three questions directly before buying.
FAQ
Can I keep my existing phone number on an eSIM? Not with a travel eSIM. These plans assign a new number. You can use dual‑SIM to keep your home number active for iMessage/FaceTime while using the travel eSIM for local calls and data.
Will a travel eSIM number work for WhatsApp verification? Yes, if the number can receive SMS. All the voice+SMS eSIMs listed should be able to receive the WhatsApp verification code, but we haven’t tested this.
Do I need a separate eSIM for data and voice? Not necessarily. The plans from eSIM.net, Simbye, and Tourist eSIM include both data and voice. However, if you use an outbound‑only service like Roamless, you’ll need a separate data eSIM for internet.
Are these eSIMs suitable for long‑term business use? They’re designed for travel. Most plans have 28‑ or 30‑day validity. For a permanent business line, a local carrier plan or a VoIP service with a real number (like a cloud PBX) may be more stable.
What if the eSIM doesn’t work in my destination? Coverage maps on vendor sites are often optimistic. Before you rely on the line, test it on arrival. Have a backup: a local prepaid SIM or a VoIP number that forwards to your app.

The bottom line
A real phone number on an eSIM is finally possible, but the market is still immature. You’ll trade the convenience of a data‑only eSIM for the complexity of verifying voice/SMS reliability, fair‑use limits, and bank compatibility. For outbound‑only calling, Roamless’s $0.01/min rate is hard to beat. For a full business line, eSIM.net and Simbye are the most promising options we found, but you’ll need to do your own testing before trusting them with client calls. If you’ve tested any of these services with 2FA codes or high call volumes, we’d like to hear about it: because right now, that data doesn’t exist anywhere public.
Related reading
- Airalo vs Saily for Digital Nomads in Southeast Asia: Which eSIM Wins?
- eSIM for Digital Nomads in Tbilisi: Cheapest Data Plans for Remote Work
- NordVPN vs ExpressVPN for Video Calls While Traveling: Latency and Reliability Tested on 4 Continents
- https://www.simbye.com/blogs/blog/best-esim-with-a-phone-number
- https://roamless.com/blog/best-esim-for-international-calls
- https://www.esim.net/
- https://touristesim.net/blog/esim-with-voice-data-sms
- https://www.firsty.app/international-calling-rates
- https://holidayesim.com/eg-en/26gb-vodafone-esim-for-business-travel-global-calls
- https://www.truphone.com/support/esim-for-business-plans/
- https://support.apple.com/en-us/118669