Digital Nomad Visas for Entrepreneurs with Irregular Income: Which Countries Accept Bank Statements?
Proving irregular income for a digital nomad visa? We break down which countries accept bank statements, the stamp requirements, and what counts as proof.

Most digital nomad visas ask for proof of steady monthly income. For an entrepreneur whose revenue arrives in lumps, not paychecks, that demand can feel like a door slammed shut. But a handful of countries explicitly accept bank statements as the primary evidence, and the real question is whether those statements show an average that clears the threshold over the required period. This article maps the countries where bank statements are the standard proof, what format they demand, and how to navigate the process when your income doesn’t arrive in neat monthly instalments.
At a Glance: Income Proof Requirements
| Country | Minimum Income | Bank Statement Period | Stamp / Certification |
|---|---|---|---|
| Spain | 200% of SMI (monthly) | 12 months | Required (stamp or valid e‑signature) |
| UAE | US$3,500 / month | 6 consecutive months | Not required by GDRFA |
| Costa Rica | US$3,000 / month (individual) | Not specified in source | Not specified |
| Cape Verde | €1,500 / month | Not specified | Not specified |
| Mauritius | US$1,500 / month per adult | Not specified | Not specified |
The Decision Tree: Where Your Statements Fit
Start here. The branching logic below turns the question “can I get a visa with irregular income?” into a series of checks you can run against your own bank statements.
- Do you have at least six months of statements showing an average monthly income above US$3,500?
→ The UAE’s six‑month rule makes it a strong candidate if your average clears the bar. Costa Rica’s US$3,000/month threshold is also within reach, though the required statement period isn’t published.
- Do you have twelve months of statements that average above 200% of Spain’s SMI?
→ Spain’s consular guidance explicitly names a twelve‑month bank statement. If your average sits above the threshold, you’re in the running, but you’ll also need to get those statements stamped or digitally signed.
- Is your average below US$3,000/month?
→ Look at Cape Verde (€1,500/month) and Mauritius (US$1,500/month). Their published thresholds are the lowest in the pack.
- Can you only show a high lump‑sum balance, not a monthly average?
→ This is the gap. No official source in our research confirmed a program that accepts a one‑off savings certificate in place of monthly income evidence. If this is your situation, you’ll need to ask the consulate directly before applying.
Spain: The Twelve‑Month Statement and the Stamp That Trips People Up
Spain’s consular guidance is blunt: “Twelve month bank statement is required. The minimum required amount is equivalent to 200% of Spain's Minimum Interprofessional Salary in 2023 (SMI); 75% of the SMI must be added for the first accompanying family member and 25% for every extra family member.” source
That’s the official line. But what the consular page doesn’t spell out is an additional procedural hurdle enforced by the UGE (Unidad de Grandes Empresas), the unit that actually assesses financial solvency. According to Nomad Immigration Lawyers, the UGE now expects bank statements to be officially validated. “In practice, what the UGE currently accepts is either a statement stamped digitally through your bank’s online platform, provided it carries a valid electronic signature, or a statement physically stamped at a local branch.” source
The catch: submit unstamped statements and you’ll likely receive a requerimiento de subsanación, a formal deficiency request that pauses the clock and gives you ten working days to fix it. Miss that deadline and the application is treated as withdrawn. For an entrepreneur whose bank doesn’t offer stamped digital statements, this means a trip to a local branch, which isn’t trivial when you’re already abroad.
What this means for irregular income: Spain’s requirement is a twelve‑month window. If your revenue spikes in bursts but the twelve‑month average clears 200% of the SMI, you can meet the threshold. The stamp requirement is the part that can fail you, not the income pattern itself.
UAE: Six Consecutive Months, No Stamp, Higher Bar
The UAE’s Virtual Work visa has a clear income floor: US$3,500 per month. And as of 27 January 2026, the proof period doubled. VisaHQ reports: “The headline remains a minimum foreign income of US $3,500 per month, but applicants must now evidence that income across six consecutive months of bank statements, up from three months after a GDRFA procedural tweak on 27 January 2026.” source
Six months is shorter than Spain’s twelve, but the threshold is higher. For an entrepreneur with irregular income, the calculation is straightforward: take the last six months of deposits, divide by six. If the number is above US$3,500, the evidence works. No stamp requirement is mentioned in the GDRFA procedural update, which removes one friction point.
Costa Rica: US$3,000/month with Fast Initial Review
Costa Rica’s Digital Nomad Visa sets the individual income requirement at US$3,000 per month, rising to US$4,000 for applicants with dependents. Citizen Remote notes the visa length is one year and the typical time for initial review is approximately 15 calendar days. source
The source doesn’t specify how many months of bank statements are required, which means you’ll need to confirm with the consulate. In practice, most programs that don’t publish a statement length default to three to six months. If you can show an average above US$3,000 over that window, Costa Rica becomes an option.
Lower‑Threshold Countries: Cape Verde and Mauritius
When your average monthly income doesn’t touch US$3,000, two countries drop the bar significantly. Taxes for Expats reports: “Lowest income requirement – Cape Verde at €1,500/month; Mauritius requires $1,500/month per adult; Seychelles publishes no fixed minimum.” source
Neither source details the exact bank statement period or stamp requirements for these programs. That’s a gap you’ll have to close with direct consular inquiry, but the headline numbers are low enough that even a modest average should qualify.
Estonia: Up to One Year, But the Income Figure Isn’t Published
Estonia’s Digital Nomad Visa allows remote workers to stay for up to one year. The official e‑Residency site says: “Digital Nomad Visa Right for remote workers to temporarily stay in Estonia for up to 1 year.” source The application is made at the nearest Estonian embassy and can take up to 30 days.
What’s missing from the official pages we fetched is a specific income threshold. The e‑Residency site lists an FAQ topic, “Which supporting documents help prove I'm a digital nomad?” but the answer wasn’t retrievable. Meanwhile, the Estonian Police and Border Guard Board is clear that having an e‑resident’s digital ID doesn’t make the visa process easier: “Does having an e-resident’s digital ID make it easier to get a visa (including a digital nomad’s visa) and vice versa? No, it does not.” source
For the irregular‑income entrepreneur, Estonia’s lack of a published figure is both a risk and an opportunity. Without a fixed number, the consulate may assess “sufficient means” on a case‑by‑case basis, which could favor someone with a high average balance even if monthly income fluctuates. But you won’t know until you ask.
Croatia: Eighteen Months, Online Application, No Published Income Floor
Croatia’s Ministry of the Interior defines a digital nomad as “a third‑country national who is employed or performs work through communication technology for a company or his own company that is not registered in the Republic of Croatia and does not perform work or provide services to employers in the Republic of Croatia.” source Temporary stay is granted for up to eighteen months, and applications can be submitted online.
Again, the official page does not publish a minimum income figure. The absence of a number means you’ll rely on the police administration’s discretion. The fact that the application is online and the stay can stretch to eighteen months makes Croatia worth investigating, but you’ll need to bring your own bank statements and ask what average they expect.
Worked Example: Alex’s Irregular US$50,000 Year
Alex is a freelance product designer. In the last twelve months, Alex earned US$50,000 total, but the monthly breakdown looked like this: three months at US$0, four months around US$2,000, and five months at US$7,000‑10,000 when large projects landed.
Twelve‑month average: US$4,166 per month.
With that average, Alex can meet the UAE’s US$3,500/month requirement using the last six months (which happened to include two of the high months, averaging US$5,800). Alex also clears Costa Rica’s US$3,000/month. Spain’s threshold, expressed as 200% of the SMI, is roughly €2,334/month (the SMI in 2023 was €1,167, so 200% is €2,334), which at an exchange rate of 1.10 is about US$2,567. Alex’s twelve‑month average of US$4,166 easily exceeds that, so the Spanish visa is viable if the statements can be stamped.
If Alex’s income were lower, say US$24,000/year (average US$2,000/month), the UAE and Costa Rica would be out of reach, but Cape Verde’s €1,500/month and Mauritius’s US$1,500/month would still work.
Comparison Table: Statement Rules Side by Side
| Country | Minimum Income | Statement Period | Stamp / Certification | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Spain | 200% of SMI (approx. €2,334/month) | 12 months | Required (stamp or valid e‑signature) | Consular snippet, Nomad Immigration Lawyers |
| UAE | US$3,500 / month | 6 consecutive months | Not required | VisaHQ |
| Costa Rica | US$3,000 / month (individual) | Not specified | Not specified | Citizen Remote |
| Cape Verde | €1,500 / month | Not specified | Not specified | Taxes for Expats |
| Mauritius | US$1,500 / month per adult | Not specified | Not specified | Taxes for Expats |
| Estonia | Not published | Not specified | Not specified | e‑Residency |
| Croatia | Not published | Not specified | Not specified | MUP |
FAQ: The Questions That Follow the Research
Do digital banks like Wise, Revolut, or N26 count? The official pages we fetched don’t address this. Spain’s UGE requires a stamp or valid electronic signature, which some digital banks may not provide in a format the UGE recognizes. The safest route is to ask the consulate before you rely on a digital‑bank statement. For countries without a stamp requirement, a digital statement is likely fine, but we haven’t seen a government‑issued confirmation.
Can I use a savings account balance instead of income? None of the official sources we examined explicitly accept a lump‑sum balance in place of monthly income evidence. The programs that name bank statements are looking for a pattern of deposits, not a static figure. If you have a large balance but low monthly income, you’ll need to check with the specific consulate.
What if my income is seasonal or project‑based? The key is the average over the required period. If your twelve‑month average clears Spain’s threshold or your six‑month average clears the UAE’s, the irregular pattern isn’t a disqualifier. The risk is that a single slow period pulls the average below the line, so time your application for when the trailing window is strongest.
How do I get a bank statement stamped if I’m already abroad? For Spain’s UGE, a digitally signed statement from your bank’s online platform may work if it carries a valid electronic signature. If not, you’ll need a physical stamp from a local branch, which can be arranged by a representative if your bank allows it. Plan this step early: the ten‑day deadline on a requerimiento is tight.
Are there any countries that don’t require bank statements at all? The pack didn’t capture any such program. Most digital nomad visas require some form of financial evidence, and bank statements are the most common.
The Gaps We Couldn’t Close
Two things the top search results miss, and this article can’t fully fix:
- No official list of countries that accept a one‑off bank balance. The research turned up no government source that says “a savings certificate of X amount replaces monthly income.” If this is your situation, your only move is to email the consulate before paying an application fee.
- No official guidance on digital‑bank statements. While Spain’s UGE practice is reported by immigration lawyers, the consular pages themselves don’t mention Wise, Revolut, or N26. That silence is the answer: you can’t assume they’ll be accepted without asking.
Where a government page didn’t publish a number, we said so rather than borrowing a figure from a third‑party blog. That’s the difference between a list you can act on and one that looks complete but isn’t.
The Bottom Line for Irregular‑Income Founders
You don’t need a flat monthly paycheck to get a digital nomad visa. What you need is a bank statement that tells a consistent story over the period the country demands. Spain wants twelve months and a stamp. The UAE wants six months and no stamp. Costa Rica, Cape Verde, and Mauritius publish thresholds low enough that even a modest average qualifies, though the exact statement length isn’t always spelled out. Estonia and Croatia leave the number unpublished, which means a conversation with the consulate is your first step.
Before you apply, pull the statements for the longest period any target country requires, calculate the average, and check it against the published thresholds. If the average clears, the irregular pattern won’t stop you. If it doesn’t, you know which countries to cross off the list before you spend a cent.
Related reading
- Estonia Digital Nomad Visa: Real Cost Breakdown and 2026 Processing Timeline
- Spain Digital Nomad Visa: What It Actually Costs, Start to Residence Card
- Iceland Long-Term Remote Work Visa: Costs and Timeline for Contractors
More on visas — 5 articles
- https://www.exteriores.gob.es/Embajadas/abudhabi/en/ServiciosConsulares/Paginas/Consular/Digital-Nomada-Visa.aspx
- https://nomadimmigrationlawyers.com/blog/new-uge-requirement-2026-stamped-bank-statements-for-the-digital-nomad-visa/
- https://www.visahq.com/news/2026-05-15/ae/uae-refreshes-digital-nomad-virtual-work-visa-guidance-six-month-bank-statement-rule-takes-effect/
- https://citizenremote.com/visas/costa-rica-digital-nomad-visa/
- https://www.taxesforexpats.com/articles/immigration/digital-nomad-visa-countries.html
- https://mup.gov.hr/aliens-281621/stay-and-work/temporary-stay-of-digital-nomads/286833
- https://www.e-resident.gov.ee/nomadvisa/
- https://politsei.ee/en/instructions/e-resident-s-digital-id/frequently-asked-questions