← All articles
04 September 2026 10 min read

Digital Nomad Visa Family Cost Calculator: Estimate Total for Applicants, Spouse and Children

What bringing your spouse and kids on a digital nomad visa really costs: income thresholds, per-person health insurance, visa fees, and timelines for Croatia, Spain, Estonia and more. Worked example and checklist included.

Three leather luggage tags, an olive canvas strap, and a small red child-sized water bottle resting on a folded grey wool blanket.

Bringing your family on a digital nomad visa isn’t a checkbox. It’s a second income threshold, a stack of separate insurance certificates, and a timeline that stretches because every dependent adds a document. The numbers are not hidden — they’re just scattered across six different pages and two currencies. Here they are, together, with the math you actually need.

CountryBase income requirementFamily add‑on rule per personVisa fee (main applicant)Health insurance note
Croatia$2,770/month¹+10% of average salary (~€145)²$60¹Not specified; likely per‑person
Spain€2,849/month³+75% SMI for 1st family member, +25% each additional²Not in packEach family member needs own policy⁴
Estonia€3,500⁵ or €4,500⁶“Show sufficient resources”²€120⁶Not specified
Argentina$2,500/month¹Not specified$200¹Not specified

¹ RoamHub comparator (April 2026) ² NomadAdvisers family guide ³ ImmigrantInvest Spain guideSpanishVisaHealthInsurance family guideVisa‑Digital‑Nomad.comRemoteWorkEurope Estonia explainer

Three things jump out immediately. First, the family add‑on is never a flat fee — it’s always a percentage of some national wage metric, so the euro amount moves with local policy. Second, health insurance is where the budget blows up, because most countries demand a separate policy per person, not a family plan. Third, Estonia’s income threshold is a mess: one source says €3,500, another says €4,500, and the official police‑and‑border‑guard page wasn’t fetched for this research. You’ll need to check politsei.ee yourself before you budget.

The income math: what each extra person adds

Croatia is the most predictable. The official Ministry of the Interior (MUP) page confirms that close family members can join a digital nomad through family reunification (source). The aggregator NomadAdvisers puts the extra income requirement at 10% of the average salary per family member, roughly €145 (source). So a family of three — applicant, spouse, one child — needs the base $2,770 plus €290. That’s the rule. What we don’t have is an official MUP statement confirming that 10% figure; the pack only carries the editorial source. If you’re filing, ask the police administration directly.

Spain’s formula is more aggressive. The base is €2,849/month (ImmigrantInvest). For the first family member you add 75% of the SMI (Salario Mínimo Interprofesional, the minimum wage). Each additional member adds 25% of the SMI (NomadAdvisers). The SMI changes yearly, and the research pack didn’t capture the current value, so you cannot compute the exact total from this article alone. But the shape is clear: a spouse costs you three‑quarters of a minimum wage, a child a quarter. A family of three could easily push the required income north of €4,000/month. The spouse must also be legally recognised — marriage or registered partnership — per the vendor guide (MySpanishVisa). An unmarried partner won’t qualify under the same add‑on rule.

Estonia is the outlier. The official long‑stay D visa costs €120 (RemoteWorkEurope), but the income threshold is disputed. Visa‑Digital‑Nomad.com, a 2025 editorial page, lists €3,500/month (source). RemoteWorkEurope’s 2026 explainer says €4,500/month and claims verification against the official PPA site (source). Neither is the issuing authority. The family rule is the vaguest of the three: “spouse and minor children may apply alongside; show sufficient resources” (NomadAdvisers). No percentage, no per‑head number. That means the case officer decides. If you’re counting on Estonia, budget for the higher €4,500 figure and assume you’ll need to show a comfortable margin above it for each dependent.

Argentina’s family rules didn’t appear in any fetched source. The base is $2,500/month and the fee is $200 (RoamHub). Beyond that, you’re searching on your own.

Health insurance: per person, not per family

This is where the cost curve steepens. Spain is explicit: each family member must hold their own individual health insurance policy, and each policy must come with its own certificate stating the individual’s full name, coverage dates of at least 12 months, zero copayments, zero deductible, full Spain territory, and the certificate must be in Spanish (SpanishVisaHealthInsurance). A family of four means four separate certificates, four separate policies, and four separate premiums.

What does that cost? One editorial analysis of family digital nomad insurance in 2026 puts the range at $297–$800 per month for two adults and two children, depending on coverage level (LazyGal’s Guide). That’s for a global plan, not Spain‑specific, but it gives you a floor. Spain’s zero‑copay, zero‑deductible requirement pushes you toward the upper end of that range. If you’re coming as a single applicant, insurance might run $50–$150/month. Add a spouse and two kids, and you’re looking at $400–$800/month, every month, for the duration of the visa.

Croatia and Estonia don’t spell out per‑person insurance rules in the fetched sources, but the pattern holds across most Schengen‑area permits: each person needs proof of coverage. Assume the same multiplication applies until you confirm otherwise with the consulate.

Visa fees: who pays what

The fee data is patchy. Croatia’s main applicant fee is $60 (RoamHub). Estonia’s is €120 (RemoteWorkEurope). Argentina’s is $200 (RoamHub). None of the sources state whether dependents pay a separate fee or are bundled. The safe assumption is that each family member files their own application and pays their own fee. In Croatia, the MUP page says close family members may join via “temporary stay for the purpose of family reunification” (MUP). That could mean a separate application with its own fee, or it could be a single process. Until you see the fee schedule on the MUP portal, budget for a separate €60 per person.

For a family of three in Croatia, that’s $180 in visa fees alone. Add document translation, apostilles, and biometrics, and the real all‑in cost climbs. Our total cost calculator breaks down the non‑family components — translation, notary, courier — that apply regardless of headcount.

Timeline: adding dependents adds weeks

The official processing windows don’t distinguish between single and family applications, but more documents mean more scrutiny. Croatia’s in‑country MUP route takes about 8–14 weeks end to end (RelocateNomad). Spain’s DNV processes in 15–45 business days (ImmigrantInvest). Neither source mentions a family delay, but if one certificate is missing or a birth certificate translation is rejected, you reset the clock. Plan for the upper end of the range.

Croatia offers online submission through the MUP portal (MUP), which at least eliminates the in‑person bottleneck for the initial filing. Spain’s process, depending on whether you apply at a consulate or within Spain, may require in‑person appointments for biometrics. Every dependent who needs a residence card adds an appointment.

Worked example: a family of three in Croatia

Let’s run the numbers for two adults and one child applying for Croatia’s digital nomad permit. This is the country where we have the most complete data, though gaps remain.

Income requirement Base (main applicant): $2,770/month (RoamHub) Spouse: +10% average salary ≈ €145 (NomadAdvisers) Child: +10% average salary ≈ €145 Total: $2,770 + €290 Using a rough exchange rate of €1 = $1.08, that’s about $3,083/month. You’ll need to prove this income with six months of bank statements or contracts.

Visa fees Main applicant: $60 Spouse and child: assumed $60 each, total $180 Unverified. Check the MUP fee schedule.

Health insurance No per‑person rule confirmed for Croatia, but Schengen norms require coverage for each individual. Using the global family range of $297–$800/month for four people (LazyGal’s Guide), a family of three might budget $250–$600/month. This is the largest recurring line item.

Timeline 8–14 weeks from submission to approval (RelocateNomad). Add 2–4 weeks for document gathering and translation.

Total first‑year cost estimate (excluding flights and rent)

  • Visa fees: $180
  • Insurance (12 months at $400/month midpoint): $4,800
  • Document translation/apostilles: $200–$400 (estimate from experience, not in pack)
  • Total: roughly $5,200–$5,400

That’s before you pay for a single coffee in Zagreb. And it assumes the MUP accepts the family reunification route without additional fees — an assumption you verify before you book.

Checklist for a family digital nomad visa application

Use this list once you’ve settled on a country. Every item applies to each family member unless noted.

  • [ ] Passport valid for at least the duration of the visa plus three months (check country‑specific rule)
  • [ ] Marriage certificate, apostilled and translated into the local language
  • [ ] Birth certificates for each child, apostilled and translated
  • [ ] Proof of relationship for unmarried partners (where accepted; Spain says no)
  • [ ] Proof of income meeting the adjusted family threshold — bank statements, contracts, tax returns
  • [ ] Health insurance certificate for each person, showing:
  • Full name
  • Policy coverage dates (minimum 12 months)
  • Zero copayment, zero deductible
  • Full territory coverage (e.g., “Spain” for Spain)
  • Insurer name and policy number
  • Certificate in the local language (Spanish for Spain)
  • [ ] Completed application form for each applicant (main + dependents)
  • [ ] Visa fee payment receipt for each application
  • [ ] Biometrics appointment confirmation (if required)
  • [ ] Criminal background check, apostilled and translated (country‑dependent)
  • [ ] Proof of accommodation (lease or host invitation)

Pros and cons of each country for families

Croatia

  • Pros: Clear 10% add‑on rule, online application, family reunification explicitly mentioned on the official MUP site, relatively low base income threshold.
  • Cons: Maximum stay is 18 months, not renewable immediately (official MUP says up to 18 months; aggregator RoamHub says 1 year non‑renewable — the official source is the one to trust, but the discrepancy means you must confirm renewal conditions before planning a multi‑year stay). Insurance rules not explicit.

Spain

  • Pros: Long permit (3 years, extendable to 5), clear percentage‑based add‑on formula, path to permanent residency. Health insurance requirements are spelled out in detail, reducing guesswork.
  • Cons: High income add‑ons (75% SMI for first family member) push the total requirement well above the base. Each person needs a separate policy with strict certificate rules, driving up monthly costs. Unmarried partners excluded from the family add‑on.

Estonia

  • Pros: Low visa fee (€120), digital‑first government, spouse and children explicitly allowed.
  • Cons: Income threshold disputed (€3,500 vs €4,500), no official source fetched. Family add‑on rule is “sufficient resources” — entirely at the case officer’s discretion. That’s a gamble if your budget is tight.

Argentina

  • Pros: Low base income ($2,500) and moderate fee ($200). Short initial stay (180 days) but renewable.
  • Cons: No family‑specific data in the research pack. You’re flying blind on dependents.

FAQ

Can I bring an unmarried partner on a digital nomad visa? It depends on the country. Spain requires legal recognition — marriage or registered partnership — for the family add‑on to apply (MySpanishVisa). Croatia’s MUP page doesn’t specify; “close family members” typically means spouse and children. Estonia’s rules are vague. If your partner isn’t legally recognised, they’ll likely need to qualify independently.

Do children need their own health insurance certificates? Yes, in Spain, every family member needs an individual policy and certificate with their own name, coverage dates, and zero‑copay confirmation (SpanishVisaHealthInsurance). For other countries, assume the same until you see a written exception.

How much extra income do I need per dependent?

  • Croatia: +10% of average salary (~€145) per person (NomadAdvisers)
  • Spain: +75% of minimum wage for the first family member, +25% for each additional (NomadAdvisers)
  • Estonia: “sufficient resources” — no fixed number (NomadAdvisers)

Does the visa fee increase per family member? The research pack doesn’t confirm. In Croatia, the main applicant fee is $60; family members may pay the same fee if they file separate applications. Budget for a per‑person fee until you see the official schedule.

How long does a family application take compared to a single applicant? No source in the pack provides a separate timeline. Croatia’s single‑applicant timeline is 8–14 weeks (RelocateNomad); Spain’s is 15–45 business days (ImmigrantInvest). Adding dependents likely extends processing toward the upper end because of the extra document verification.

What if I can’t meet the family income threshold? Your spouse may need to apply for their own digital nomad visa independently, if they have qualifying remote income. That doubles the base requirement but avoids the add‑on percentages. It also doubles the visa fees and insurance costs.

What we couldn’t verify

This article is built from 10 fetched sources, only one of which sits on a government domain (Croatia’s MUP). The official fee schedules and income thresholds for Estonia and Spain were not retrieved. The Estonian income threshold conflict (€3,500 vs €4,500) can only be resolved by checking politsei.ee. Spain’s SMI value, needed to calculate exact family add‑ons, was not in the pack. And no source stated whether dependents pay separate visa fees. Before you commit to a country, open the issuing authority’s page and read the current rules. The numbers here are the best available from editorial and vendor sources as of mid‑2026, but they are not the law.

If you’re comparing multiple countries and want to run your own numbers, use our total cost calculator, which layers in translation, notary, and courier costs on top of the family adjustments covered here. And if fees change — they did in 2026 — the monthly fee change log tracks every update we catch.