← All articles
04 September 2026 8 min read

Digital Nomad Visa Fee Changes in 2026: Month-by-Month Update Log

Monthly ledger of visa fee increases, income threshold shifts, and new requirements for Portugal, Japan, Spain, Italy, and more. Official dates and exact numbers with links to government fee tables.

A manual metal date stamp, a cardstock tab divider with a red reinforcement ring, and a brass loupe on an oak desk.

Between January and July 2026, four digital nomad visa destinations—Portugal, Spain, Japan, and Italy—changed application fees, income thresholds, or renewal rules. If you are budgeting for a residency application late this year, any figure you pulled before January is out of date. A Japan single-entry visa now costs ¥15,000 (approximately $93), five times its pre-July price. Portugal’s D8 income test moved to €3,680/month, and the visa-plus-consular fee stack after the March revision sits around €260–280. Spain’s active income figure is still unsettled, with three numbers circulating.

The table below logs each change, the exact effective date, and the old and new amounts, sourced to the government schedules or editorial reports that captured them.

Month (2026)CountryWhat ChangedOld ValueNew ValueEffective DateSource
JanuaryPortugalMinimum wage (RMMG) rose to €920, moving the D8 income threshold to 4× that = €3,680/month (some sources still quote €3,480)€820 (2025 RMMG) → threshold ~€3,480€920 → €3,6801 Jan 2026Living-abroad.org
January–FebruarySpainMinimum wage (SMI) increased to €1,221/month; official income requirement set at 200% of SMI = €2,442/month (but practical figure disputed)€1,080 (2025 SMI) → threshold ~€2,160€1,221 → €2,442 (formula)2026 (date of wage order not specified)Living-abroad.org
1 MarchPortugalAIMA revised residence-permit fee schedule; fees rose up to 33%. D8 permit fee now roughly €150–170; the consular visa fee (€110) is now included in the fiche. Total application cost moved from previous estimates of ~€90+€170 to €110+~€150–170~€260 (pre-March, loosely)€110 (consular) + €150–170 (AIMA) = €260–2801 Mar 2026Abroadmap
18 MarchItalyDigital Nomad visa decree published; system fully operational. No quota cap. Fees not reported in this round.N/A (not operational)Operational (fee schedule pending)18 Mar 2026Abroadmap
JuneSpainRenewal rule clarification: absences exceeding 183 days a year no longer automatically block renewal.Automatic block if >183 days out of SpainNo automatic blockJune 2026 (clarification date)Abroadmap
1 JulyJapanConsular visa fee revision: single-entry from ¥3,000 to ¥15,000; multiple-entry from ¥6,000 to ¥30,000 (first revision since 1978)¥3,000 (single) / ¥6,000 (multiple)¥15,000 / ¥30,000Applications accepted on or after 1 July 2026NomadOnAtlas

For context, countries that did not adjust fees in 2026: Estonia’s long-term visa state fee remained €120 (both in Estonia and at foreign representation), and extension of stay cost €30 within Estonia, unchanged in 2026. (An e-resident’s digital ID application fee is €150, separate from the visa category.)politsei.ee

The Income Threshold Tangle: Portugal and Spain

Two countries’ income requirements now carry conflicting numbers—enough to cause a denial if you file with the wrong figure.

Portugal D8: €3,680 or €3,480?

On 1 January 2026, Portugal’s minimum guaranteed remuneration (RMMG) rose to €920, as reported by Living-abroad.org. Because the D8 income test is 4× the RMMG, the threshold became €3,680 per month. Abroadmap confirmed that figure on 10 July, explicitly noting that an older ~€3,480 figure “still circulating online is last year's number, not a live alternative.”

Yet GoAbroad’s May 2026 comparison table still lists the Portugal D8 minimum income as €3,480/month. Either the site had not updated its database by May, or it was unaware of the RMMG change. For an applicant, using €3,480 could risk a rejection if the consulate is applying €3,680. Verify with your local Portuguese consulate or AIMA directly, but the January RMMG change strongly suggests €3,680 is the correct figure.

Spain: €2,442, €2,646, or €2,849?

Three numbers are in circulation:

  • €2,442/month — derived from Spain’s 2026 minimum wage (SMI) increase to €1,221/month, where the law sets the requirement at 200% of the monthly SMI. This figure appears on Living-abroad.org and is the “textbook” calculation.
  • €2,646/month — listed by GoAbroad in its May 2026 comparison table, citing a dollar equivalent of $2,750.
  • €2,849/month — reported by Abroadmap as the figure Spain’s visa unit (UGE-CE) applies in practice, derived from the 2026 minimum wage but yielding a higher number. Abroadmap states that the €2,442 figure “appears to come from a miscalculation, not a competing official number.”

Which one will your application be measured against? Spain’s consulate in London requires applicants to first obtain an N.I.E. number (via the Spanish consulate), but the income figure is not published on that official Digital Nomad Visa page. The safest path: use the higher of the two commonly referenced figures (€2,849) as your target, or ask your specific consulate before filing. Budgeting with €2,442 could get you through the central system but fail at a local consulate applying a higher figure.

The Real Cost Beyond the Visa Fee

The line items above—¥15,000 for Japan, €110 + ~€150–170 for Portugal—are the fees you hand to the government. But they are not what you will spend to actually get the visa and live there for a year. GlobalVisaIndex notes that the advertised “visa fee” is typically only 10–20% of your total first-year costs (source). Missing items: required health/travel insurance (often a specific policy with minimum coverage), document apostilles and certified translations, biometrics appointments, courier fees, and possibly legal representation.

For a worked example using real quotes, we built a Digital Nomad Visa Total Cost Calculator that layers those extras onto each country’s official prices. If you are comparing destinations purely by the consular fee, you will underestimate the true outlay by a factor of five to ten.

Common Mistakes When Tracking 2026 Fee Changes

  1. Using a fee figure without checking its effective date.

Japan’s fee revision applies to applications “accepted on or after 1 July 2026.” If you filed in late June and your application was accepted in July, the consulate may charge the new fee. Always confirm with your specific embassy.

  1. Submitting with last year’s income threshold.

Portugal’s threshold climbed from roughly €3,480 to €3,680 in January 2026. Using the old number could get your application rejected. Check the current minimum wage base, not a stale blog post.

  1. Budgeting in a currency that has moved since the change was published.

Japan’s ¥15,000 fee was reported at ~$93 in early July 2026, but the yen/USD rate fluctuates. When converting, use the exchange rate at the time you pay, not the rate in the news article.

  1. Thinking the “visa fee” is the whole picture.

As GlobalVisaIndex notes, the visa fee is only 10–20% of total first-year costs. For Portugal, the consular visa fee (€110) plus AIMA permit (€150–170) is just the start; you’ll need insurance, translations, and possibly an attorney. Our Italy Digital Nomad Visa cost breakdown illustrates how fast extras add up.

  1. Assuming a renewal clause has not changed.

Spain’s June 2026 clarification that absences >183 days no longer automatically block renewal means you might keep your permit even with extended travel, but the specifics (e.g., does it affect the continuous-residency requirement for permanent residency later?) are not yet settled. Do not rely on pre-2026 renewal assumptions.

FAQ: Fee Changes and Your Application

Q: I applied for a Japan visa in June 2026 but the consulate didn’t decide until July. Do I pay the old ¥3,000 or the new ¥15,000? The fee revision specifies applications accepted on or after 1 July 2026. If your application was accepted by the consulate before 1 July, the old fee likely applies. If it was accepted on or after 1 July, the new fee applies. Check with the consulate to see which acceptance date they record.

Q: How do I find the official fee table for a country that changed its fees? For Estonia, the fee is listed on the Police and Border Guard Board site. For Japan, the official fee schedule is published by the Ministry of Foreign Affairs, but we couldn’t retrieve the precise page (a gap). Abroadmap and NomadOnAtlas both cited the new fees; you can verify with your embassy. For Portugal, AIMA’s fee schedule was published in the Diário da República, but the exact text was not retrieved. We rely on Abroadmap’s March 1 report for now.

Q: Which Spain income number should I use—€2,442 or €2,849? The answer depends on your consulate. The theoretical legal minimum is €2,442, but Abroadmap reports that the central visa unit applies €2,849. To avoid rejection, aim for the higher figure or ask your consulate directly. No official Spanish government page we could access lists the exact amount, so you’ll need to verify locally.

Q: If I paid the old fee and the new fee is lower, can I get a refund? Fee changes are nearly always upward, not downward. For Japan’s 5× increase, there is no refund path. In general, visa fees are non-refundable regardless of the outcome.

Q: Should I wait until fees settle before applying? Fee schedules are political decisions; they can change again. If you qualify now, apply now. Delaying to wait for a possible reduction might cost you months of residency access, and fees could rise further. The Japan increase was the first revision in 48 years—don’t bet on stability.

Closing

The 2026 fee landscape is one where a single post from last December will misinform your budget by hundreds of euros or tens of thousands of yen. The safest ledger is: Portugal’s D8 total government fees now around €260–280 after the March revision, Japan’s single-entry visa at ¥15,000 from July, Spain’s income requirement unsettled but higher than the textbook calculation suggests, and Italy now open with no cap. Verify the effective date of every figure you use, and remember that the visa fee is only a fraction of your first-year spend. Our tally will be updated as each change hits the official gazettes. <<<END>>